The Law Office of Frank S. Clowney, III | Attorney at Law
FREE CONSULTATIONS
866.604.1775 or 619.618.2419
SITE NAVIGATION PRACTICE AREAS

October 2014 Archives

What is classified as disability discrimination?

In California, an employer may be engaging in disability discrimination by treating a worker with a disability unfairly. The Americans with Disabilities Act and the Rehabilitation Act list all disabilities that are covered. However, only certain employers are subject to these laws, and the number of an employees a business has generally determines if a particular employer is covered.

Former campaign worker claims he was sexually harassed

In early October, a former campaign worker for California congressional candidate Carl DeMaio began speaking publicly about what he claims was sexual harassment. Although the 28-year-old man's attorney says that he has not yet decided whether or not to file a civil lawsuit against DeMaio, he was willing to share his story with CNN.

Employee rights in California

California employment law ensures that all employees are given minimum protections regarding pay and breaks. These employee rights are important for workers to understand so that employers cannot treat them unfairly without consequence. However, the things employees are used to receiving may not be required under the law, such as vacation time. Also, some things, like overtime, are not given to every employee.

When California employers must pay overtime

In California, an eight-hour workday is considered a full day's work. Forty hours constitutes a full workweek. Hours worked in excess of eight hours in one day or 40 hours in one week are compensated for no less than one and one half times the normal hourly rate. On the seventh consecutive day of work, the first eight hours of work should also be paid at the rate of one and one half times the employee's hourly wage. After 12 hours of work in a single day, employees are to be compensated at two times their hourly wage. Anyone working more than eight hours on the seventh consecutive day of work should also receive double his or her hourly wage. These rules don't apply to independent contractors.