People in California work different types of jobs, different shifts, earn different amounts per hour and have other differences as well. However, they all have a couple of things in common. They need to show up and work their shifts in order to get paid and they expect to be paid for the hours that they work.
There are laws in place to ensure that this occurs as well. Employers need to pay their employees within certain time frames and also need to pay them at least minimum wage per hour. There are also rules regarding how much they need to pay employees if they are forced to work longer hours.
Employers must pay their employees overtime pay if they work more than eight hours in a day and also if they work more than 40 hours in a week. The amount that needs to be paid depends on how long people work. If people work between 8 and 12 hours in a day, they must be paid one and one-half times their normal hourly rate for those hours. If they work more than 12 hours in a day, they must be paid two times their normal hourly rate for those hours.
Additionally, if people need to work more than six days in a week, they need to be paid one and one-half times their normal hourly rate for the first eight hours on the seventh day. Any hours beyond eight hours on the seventh day needs to be paid at two times the employee’s normal hourly rate.
There are employees in California who are exempt employees and are not entitled to overtime pay, but there are many employees who are covered by the laws and need to be paid accordingly. However, this does not always occur. If employees are not paid the proper overtime pay, they may be entitled to compensation for all overtime they were not paid and potentially other damages. Experienced attorneys understand employees’ rights to overtime and could help ensure they receive it.